The Holy Spirit Inspired the Writing of Scripture

The Spirit inspired the writers of the OT

2 Samuel 23:1-2

Now these are the last words of David.

Thus says David the son of Jesse;

Thus says the man raised up on high,

The anointed of the God of Jacob,

And the sweet psalmist of Israel:

2 The Spirit of the Lord spoke by me,

And His word was on my tongue.

 

Nehemiah 9:3

30Yet for many years You had patience with them,

And testified against them by Your Spirit in Your prophets.

Yet they would not listen;

Therefore You gave them into the hand of the peoples of the lands.

 

Ezekiel 2:2; 11:24-25

2:2 Then the Spirit entered me when He spoke to me, and set me on my feet; and I heard Him who spoke to me.

 

11:24 Then the Spirit took me up and brought me in a vision by the Spirit of God into Chaldea, to those in captivity. And the vision that I had seen went up from me. 25 So I spoke to those in captivity of all the things the Lord had shown me.

 

Micah 3:9

8 But truly I am full of power by the Spirit of the Lord,

And of justice and might,

To declare to Jacob his transgression

And to Israel his sin.

 

Zechariah 7:12

12 Yes, they made their hearts like flint, refusing to hear the law and the words which the Lord of hosts had sent by His Spirit through the former prophets. Thus great wrath came from the Lord of hosts.

 

The NT Recognizes OT Writings as Inspired by the Holy Spirit

2 Timothy 3:16

16 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness,

 

2 Peter 1:20-21

20 knowing this first, that no prophecy of Scripture is of any private interpretation, 21 for prophecy never came by the will of man, but holy men of God spoke as they were moved by the Holy Spirit.

 

Matthew 22:43

43 He said to them, “How then does David in the Spirit call Him ‘Lord,’ saying:

 

Mark 12:36

 36 For David himself said by the Holy Spirit:

‘The Lord said to my Lord,

“Sit at My right hand,

Till I make Your enemies Your footstool.” ’

 

Acts 1:16; 28:25-27

1:16 Men and brethren, this Scripture had to be fulfilled, which the Holy Spirit spoke before by the mouth of David concerning Judas, who became a guide to those who arrested Jesus;

 

28:25 So when they did not agree among themselves, they departed after Paul had said one word: “The Holy Spirit spoke rightly through Isaiah the prophet to our fathers, 26 saying,

‘Go to this people and say:

Hearing you will hear, and shall not understand;

And seeing you will see, and not perceive;

27For the hearts of this people have grown dull.

Their ears are hard of hearing,

And their eyes they have closed,

Lest they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears,

Lest they should understand with their hearts and turn,

So that I should heal them.” ’

 

Hebrews 3:7-11; 10:15-17

3:7 Therefore, as the Holy Spirit says:

“Today, if you will hear His voice,

8Do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion,

In the day of trial in the wilderness,

9Where your fathers tested Me, tried Me,

And saw My works forty years.

10Therefore I was angry with that generation,

And said, ‘They always go astray in their heart,

And they have not known My ways.’

11So I swore in My wrath,

‘They shall not enter My rest.’ ”

 

10:15 But the Holy Spirit also witnesses to us; for after He had said before,

16 This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, says the Lord: I will put My laws into their hearts, and in their minds I will write them,” 17 then He adds, “Their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.”

 

1 Peter 1:11

11 searching what, or what manner of time, the Spirit of Christ who was in them was indicating when He testified beforehand the sufferings of Christ and the glories that would follow.

 

The Spirit inspired the writers of the NT

Ephesians 3:4-5

by which, when you read, you may understand my knowledge in the mystery of Christ), which in other ages was not made known to the sons of men, as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to His holy apostles and prophets:

 

1 Corinthians 7:40

40 But she is happier if she remains as she is, according to my judgment—and I think I also have the Spirit of God.

 

Revelation 2:8,11,17,29

2:7 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes I will give to eat from the tree of life, which is in the midst of the Paradise of God.” ’

 

2:11 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. He who overcomes shall not be hurt by the second death.” ’

 

2:17 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes I will give some of the hidden manna to eat. And I will give him a white stone, and on the stone a new name written which no one knows except him who receives it.” ’

 

2:29 He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.” ’

 

He has said it four times now, did you hear what the Holy Spirit said to the churches? Very important!

 

May God and Jesus be our guiding lights for eternity…… And may the Holy Spirit be our brother in love and guidance…… And may Christianity be our only religion because it was sent from God thru His Son to all who believe in His Son.

God is testing us every day and has given us the right to make our own choices. Do you know which ones are the right choices in Gods mind?

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the joy of the promises of God’s blessings in His time.

 

Prayer:  Father in heaven, hallowed is Thy Name.  I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about “The Holy Spirit Inspired the Writing of Scripture.” I praise You for Your caring, Your loving kindness, and Your generosity.  Only Your graciousness and love could forgive the sins of mankind and still allow him to become a Son or daughter of Yours. Please bless those who have read this article for they too seek Your righteous truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

