Jesus Christ as the Son of God

 

His divine origin and divinity

Luke 1:32-35 (NKJV)

32 He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Highest; and the Lord God will give Him the throne of His father David. 33 And He will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of His kingdom there will be no end.”

 

34 Then Mary said to the angel, “How can this be, since I do not know a man?”

35 And the angel answered and said to her, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Highest will overshadow you; therefore, also, that Holy One who is to be born will be called the Son of God.

 

John 1:13,18, 5:18; 17:5; 12:49 (NKJV)

1:13 who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.

1:18 No one has seen God at any time. The only begotten Son, who is in the bosom of the Father, He has declared Him.

5:18 Therefore the Jews sought all the more to kill Him, because He not only broke the Sabbath, but also said that God was His Father, making Himself equal with God.

17:5 And now, O Father, glorify Me together with Yourself, with the glory which I had with You before the world was.

17:24  Father, I desire that they also whom You gave Me may be with Me where I am, that they may behold My glory which You have given Me; for You loved Me before the foundation of the world.

 

His intimate relationship with the Father

Mark 14:36 (NKJV)

36 And He said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Take this cup away from Me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.”

 

Matthew 3:17 (NKJV)

17 And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”

 

Luke 2:49 (NKJV)

49 And He said to them, “Why did you seek Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?”

 

John 1:18, 32-34; 3:35; 5:20; 17:23 (NKJV)

1:18 No one has seen God at any time. The only begotten Son, who is in the bosom of the Father, He has declared Him.

1:32 And John bore witness, saying, “I saw the Spirit descending from heaven like a dove, and He remained upon Him. 33 I did not know Him, but He who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘Upon whom you see the Spirit descending, and remaining on Him, this is He who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’ 34 And I have seen and testified that this is the Son of God.”

3:35 The Father loves the Son, and has given all things into His hand.

5:20 For the Father loves the Son, and shows Him all things that He Himself does; and He will show Him greater works than these, that you may marvel.

17:23 I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me.

 

His knowledge of the Father’s will

Matthew 11:25-27 (NKJV)

25 At that time Jesus answered and said, “I thank You, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that You have hidden these things from the wise and prudent and have revealed them to babes. 26 Even so, Father, for so it seemed good in Your sight. 27 All things have been delivered to Me by My Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father. Nor does anyone know the Father except the Son, and the one to whom the Son wills to reveal Him.

 

John 6:45-46; 14:13-16; 15:15 (NKJV)

45 It is written in the prophets, And they shall all be taught by God.’ Therefore everyone who has heard and learned from the Father comes to Me. 46 Not that anyone has seen the Father, except He who is from God; He has seen the Father.

14:13 And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.

15 “If you love Me, keep My commandments. 16 And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever

15 No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.

 

His obedience to the Father’s mission

 

Matthew 26:42 (NKJV)

42 Again, a second time, He went away and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if this cup cannot pass away from Me unless I drink it, Your will be done.”

 

Matthew 3:13-17 (NKJV)

13 Then Jesus came from Galilee to John at the Jordan to be baptized by him. 14 And John tried to prevent Him, saying, “I need to be baptized by You, and are You coming to me?”

15 But Jesus answered and said to him, “Permit it to be so now, for thus it is fitting for us to fulfill all righteousness.” Then he allowed Him.

16 When He had been baptized, Jesus came up immediately from the water; and behold, the heavens were opened to Him, and He saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting upon Him. 17 And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.”

 

Matthew 4:1-11 (NKJV)

Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. And when He had fasted forty days and forty nights, afterward He was hungry. Now when the tempter came to Him, he said, “If You are the Son of God, command that these stones become bread.”

But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’ ”

Then the devil took Him up into the holy city, set Him on the pinnacle of the temple, and said to Him, “If You are the Son of God, throw Yourself down. For it is written:

‘He shall give His angels charge over you,’

and,

“In their hands they shall bear you up,

Lest you dash your foot against a stone.’ ”

Jesus said to him, “It is written again, ‘You shall not tempt the Lord your God.’ ”

Again, the devil took Him up on an exceedingly high mountain, and showed Him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory. And he said to Him, “All these things I will give You if You will fall down and worship me.”

10 Then Jesus said to him, “Away with you, Satan! For it is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only you shall serve.’ ”

11 Then the devil left Him, and behold, angels came and ministered to Him.

 

Matthew 12:50 (NKJV)

50 For whoever does the will of My Father in heaven is My brother and sister and mother.”

 

John 8:55; 10:17, 36; (NKJV)

8:55 Yet you have not known Him, but I know Him. And if I say, ‘I do not know Him,’ I shall be a liar like you; but I do know Him and keep His word.

10:17  Therefore My Father loves Me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again.

10:36  do you say of Him whom the Father sanctified and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming,’ because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’?

 17:8  For I have given to them the words which You have given Me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came forth from You; and they have believed that You sent Me.

 

His sharing in the Father’s work

John 3:34; 4:34; 5:17, 21-26; 8:16;   (NKJV)

34 For He whom God has sent speaks the words of God, for God does not give the Spirit by measure.

 4:34 Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work.

5:17 But Jesus answered them, “My Father has been working until now, and I have been working.”

5:21 For as the Father raises the dead and gives life to them, even so the Son gives life to whom He will.

22 For the Father judges no one, but has committed all judgment to the Son, 23 that all should honor the Son just as they honor the Father. He who does not honor the Son does not honor the Father who sent Him.

24 Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, and shall not come into judgment, but has passed from death into life. 25 Most assuredly, I say to you, the hour is coming, and now is, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God; and those who hear will live. 26 For as the Father has life in Himself, so He has granted the Son to have life in Himself,

8:16 And yet if I do judge, My judgment is true; for I am not alone, but I am with the Father who sent Me.

12:49 For I have not spoken on My own authority; but the Father who sent Me gave Me a command, what I should say and what I should speak. 50 And I know that His command is everlasting life. Therefore, whatever I speak, just as the Father has told Me, so I speak.”

14:11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.

 

His role as promised Messiah

Matthew 16:16 (NKJV)

16 Simon Peter answered and said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

 

1 Chronicles 17:11:13

11 And it shall be, when your days are fulfilled, when you must go to be with your fathers, that I will set up your seed after you, who will be of your sons; and I will establish his kingdom. 12 He shall build Me a house, and I will establish his throne forever. 13 I will be his Father, and he shall be My son; and I will not take My mercy away from him, as I took it from him who was before you.

 

Psalm 89:26-27

26He shall cry to Me, ‘You are my Father,

My God, and the rock of my salvation.’

27Also I will make him My firstborn,

The highest of the kings of the earth.

 

Matthew 1:23 (NKJV)

23 Behold, the virgin shall be with child, and bear a Son, and they shall call His name Immanuel,” which is translated, “God with us.”

 

Hosea 11:1 (NKJV)

When Israel was a child, I loved him,

And out of Egypt I called My son.

 

Matthew 26: 63-64 (NKJV)

63 But Jesus kept silent. And the high priest answered and said to Him, “I put You under oath by the living God: Tell us if You are the Christ, the Son of God!”

64 Jesus said to him, “It is as you said. Nevertheless, I say to you, hereafter you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of the Power, and coming on the clouds of heaven.”

 

Luke 4:41; 22”29-30 NKJV)

41 And demons also came out of many, crying out and saying, “You are the Christ, the Son of God!”

And He, rebuking them, did not allow them to speak, for they knew that He was the Christ.

29 And I bestow upon you a kingdom, just as My Father bestowed one upon Me, 30 that you may eat and drink at My table in My kingdom, and sit on thrones judging the twelve tribes of Israel.”

 

John 1:49; 20:31 (NKJV)

49 Nathanael answered and said to Him, “Rabbi, You are the Son of God! You are the King of Israel!

 

Acts 13:33 (NKJV)

33 God has fulfilled this for us their children, in that He has raised up Jesus. As it is also written in the second Psalm:

You are My Son,

Today I have begotten You.’

 

Psalm 2:7 (NKJV)

7 I will declare the decree:

The Lord has said to Me,

‘You are My Son,

Today I have begotten You

 

His sharing the Father’s character and being

Hebrews 1:3 (NKJV)

who being the brightness of His glory and the express image of His person, and upholding all things by the word of His power, when He had by Himself purged our sins, sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high,

 

 

John 1:14; 5:26; 6:57;  (NKJV)

14 And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.

5:26 For as the Father has life in Himself, so He has granted the Son to have life in Himself,

6:57 As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who feeds on Me will live because of Me.

17:5 And now, O Father, glorify Me together with Yourself, with the glory which I had with You before the world was.

 

The uniqueness of his sonship

John 3:16 (NKJV)

16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

 

John 1:18; 3:18 (NKJV)

18 No one has seen God at any time. The only begotten Son, who is in the bosom of the Father, He has declared Him.

3:18  “He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

 

Hebrews 1:3 (NKJV)

who being the brightness of His glory and the express image of His person, and upholding all things by the word of His power, when He had by Himself purged our sins, sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high,

 

This is what non-Christians and religions other than Christianity do not have. They do not have Jesus Christ (who is the power of God), who created the church, and gave Jews and Gentiles in His church the hope of glory. They do not have the love of Jesus Christ. But they could if they wanted it.

God is testing us every day and has given us the right to make our own choices. Do you know which ones are the right choices in Gods mind?

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the joy of the promises of God’s blessings in His time.

 

 

Prayer:  Father in heaven, hallowed is Thy Name.  I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about “Jesus Christ as the Son of God.” I praise You for Your caring, Your loving kindness, and Your generosity.  Only Your graciousness and love could forgive the sins of mankind and still allow him to become a Son or daughter of Yours. Please bless those who have read this article for they too seek Your righteous truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

