The Favour of God

 Examples of those who found favour with God

Genesis 4:4 (NKJV)

Abel also brought of the firstborn of his flock and of their fat. And the Lord respected Abel and his offering,

 

Genesis 6:8 (NKJV)

But Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord.

 

Exodus 33:12 (NKJV)

The Promise of God’s Presence

12 Then Moses said to the Lord, “See, You say to me, ‘Bring up this people.’ But You have not let me know whom You will send with me. Yet You have said, ‘I know you by name, and you have also found grace in My sight.’

 

1 Samuel 2:26 (NKJV)

26 And the child Samuel grew in stature, and in favor both with the Lord and men.

 

Luke 2:52 (NKJV)

52 And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.

 

Examples of Those Who Seek the Favour of God

Exodus 32:11 (NKJV)

11 Then Moses pleaded with the Lord his God, and said: “Lord, why does Your wrath burn hot against Your people whom You have brought out of the land of Egypt with great power and with a mighty hand?

 

2 Kings 13:4 (NKJV)

So Jehoahaz pleaded with the Lord, and the Lord listened to him; for He saw the oppression of Israel, because the king of Syria oppressed them.

 

2 Chronicles 33:10–13 (NKJV)

Manasseh Restored After Repentance

10 And the Lord spoke to Manasseh and his people, but they would not listen. 11 Therefore the Lord brought upon them the captains of the army of the king of Assyria, who took Manasseh with hooks, bound him with bronze fetters, and carried him off to Babylon. 12 Now when he was in affliction, he implored the Lord his God, and humbled himself greatly before the God of his fathers, 13 and prayed to Him; and He received his entreaty, heard his supplication, and brought him back to Jerusalem into his kingdom. Then Manasseh knew that the Lord was God.

 

Nehemiah 5:19 (NKJV)

19 Remember me, my God, for good, according to all that I (Nehemiah) have done for this people.

 

Nehemiah 13:29–31 (NKJV)

29 Remember them, O my God, because they have defiled the priesthood and the covenant of the priesthood and the Levites.

30 Thus I cleansed them of everything pagan. I also assigned duties to the priests and the Levites, each to his service, 31 and to bringing the wood offering and the firstfruits at appointed times.

Remember me, O my God, for good!

 

Daniel 9:17–19 (NKJV)

17 Now therefore, our God, hear the prayer of Your servant, and his supplications, and for the Lord’s sake cause Your face to shine on Your sanctuary, which is desolate. 18 O my God, incline Your ear and hear; open Your eyes and see our desolations, and the city which is called by Your name; for we do not present our supplications before You because of our righteous deeds, but because of Your great mercies. 19 O Lord, hear! O Lord, forgive! O Lord, listen and act! Do not delay for Your own sake, my God, for Your city and Your people are called by Your name.”

 

Promises Relating to the Favour of God

Leviticus 26:9 (NKJV)

9   ‘For I will look on you favorably and make you fruitful, multiply you and confirm My covenant with you.

 

Psalm 5:12 (NKJV)

It is given to the righteous

12  For You, O Lord, will bless the righteous;

With favor You will surround him as with a shield.

 

Psalm 30:4–5 (NKJV)

It lasts for a lifetime

4   Sing praise to the Lord, you saints of His,

And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.

5   For His anger is but for a moment,

His favor is for life;

Weeping may endure for a night,

But joy comes in the morning.

 

The OT Predicts a Future Age of God’s Favour

Isaiah 49:8 (NKJV)

Thus says the Lord:

In an acceptable time I have heard You,

And in the day of salvation I have helped You;

I will preserve You and give You

As a covenant to the people,

To restore the earth,

To cause them to inherit the desolate heritages;

 

Isaiah 60:10 (NKJV)

10  “The sons of foreigners shall build up your walls,

And their kings shall minister to you;

For in My wrath I struck you,

But in My favor I have had mercy on you.

 

Isaiah 61:2 (NKJV)

2   To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord,

And the day of vengeance of our God;

To comfort all who mourn,

 

Ezekiel 36:9 (NKJV)

For indeed I am for you, and I will turn to you, and you shall be tilled and sown.

 

God in his mercy does not give us what we do deserve but God in his grace gives us what we don’t deserve.

God is testing us every day and has given us the right to make our own choices. Do you know which ones are the right choices in Gods mind?

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the joy of the promises of God’s blessings in His time.

 

Prayer:  Father in heaven, hallowed is Thy Name.  I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about the “The Favour of God.”  I praise You for Your caring, Your loving kindness, and Your generosity.  Only Your graciousness and love could forgive the sins of mankind and still allow him to become a Son of Yours. Please bless those who have read this article for they too seek Your righteous truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

