Word of God

Bereans tested Paul’s teaching from scripture. Blessed are those who hear and obey. Correctly explain and be diligent to present yourself approved to God’s Word. God’s Word is flawless. DO NOT ADD OR SUBTRACT from God’s Words. Do not distort the Word of God. God’s Word is truth. God is immutable and will not change His Word.

 

Bereans tested Paul’s teaching from scripture

Acts 17:11    11 These were more fair-minded than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness, and searched the Scriptures daily to find out whether these things were so.

 

Blessed are those who hear and obey

Luke 11:28    28 But He said, “More than that, blessed are those who hear the word of God and keep it!”

 

Correctly explain the word

2 Timothy 2:15    15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

 

Do not add to or subtract from

Deuteronomy 4:2    You shall not add to the word which I command you, nor take from it, that you may keep the commandments of the Lord your God which I command you.

 

Deuteronomy 12:32    32 Whatever I command you, be careful to observe it; you shall not add to it nor take away from it.

 

Revelation 22:18-19   A Warning

18 For I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book; 19 and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part from the Book of Life, from the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

 

Do not distort the word of God

2 Corinthians 4:2    But we have renounced the hidden things of shame, not walking in craftiness nor handling the word of God deceitfully, but by manifestation of the truth commending ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God.

 

God’s Word is flawless

Proverbs 30:5-6    5 Every word of God is pure;

He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him.

6 Do not add to His words,

Lest He rebuke you, and you be found a liar.

 

God’s Word is truth

John 17:17    17 Sanctify them by Your truth. Your word is truth.

 

God’s word is wonderful

Psalm 119:129, 130    129 Your testimonies are wonderful;

Therefore my soul keeps them.

130   The entrance of Your words gives light;

It gives understanding to the simple.

 

Jesus in the Old Testament

Luke 24:27, 45    27 And beginning at Moses and all the Prophets, He expounded to them in all the Scriptures the things concerning Himself.

45 And He opened their understanding, that they might comprehend the Scriptures.

 

Jesus’ words never pass away

Matthew 24:35    35 Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will by no means pass away.

 

Learn scriptures from childhood

2 Timothy 3:15    15 and that from childhood you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.

 

Let word of Christ dwell in you

Colossians 3:16    16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.

 

Love God’s Word

Psalm 119:97-106    97 Oh, how I love Your law!

It is my meditation all the day.

98        You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies;

For they are ever with me.

99        I have more understanding than all my teachers,

For Your testimonies are my meditation.

100       I understand more than the ancients,

Because I keep Your precepts.

101       I have restrained my feet from every evil way,

That I may keep Your word.

102       I have not departed from Your judgments,

For You Yourself have taught me.

103       How sweet are Your words to my taste,

Sweeter than honey to my mouth!

104       Through Your precepts I get understanding;

Therefore I hate every false way.

105       Your word is a lamp to my feet

And a light to my path.

106       I have sworn and confirmed

That I will keep Your righteous judgments.

 

Man depends on God’s Word

Matthew 4:4    But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’ ”

 

Scriptures point to Jesus

John 5:39    39 You search the Scriptures, for in them you think you have eternal life; and these are they which testify of Me.

 

Sword of the Spirit

Ephesians 6:17    17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God;

 

Word inspired by the Holy Spirit

2 Peter 1:21    21 for prophecy never came by the will of man, but holy men of God spoke as they were moved by the Holy Spirit.

 

Word keeps us from sinning

Psalm 119:9-16    9 How can a young man cleanse his way?

By taking heed according to Your word.

10        With my whole heart I have sought You;

Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!

11 Your word I have hidden in my heart,

That I might not sin against You.

12        Blessed are You, O Lord!

Teach me Your statutes.

13        With my lips I have declared

All the judgments of Your mouth.

14        I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies,

As much as in all riches.

15        I will meditate on Your precepts,

And contemplate Your ways.

16        I will delight myself in Your statutes;

I will not forget Your word.

 

Word of God is living

Hebrews 4:12-13     12For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. 13 And there is no creature hidden from His sight, but all things are naked and open to the eyes of Him to whom we must give account.  

 

Jesus in the Old Testament expounded to Moses and the Prophets in the scriptures about Himself that they might understand Him. Jesus’ words never pass away. Learn scriptures from childhood. Let the word of Christ dwell in you. Love God’s Word. Man depends on God’s Word. The scriptures point to Jesus. The Word is inspired by the Holy Spirit. The Word keeps us from sinning. The Word of God is living and powerful and sharper than a two edged sword.

 

When the gospel message is corrupted, the way of God’s salvation is confused and people are in danger of being eternally lost.

God is testing us every day and has given us the right to make our own choices. Do you know which ones are the right choices in Gods mind?

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the joy of the promises of God’s blessings in His time.

 

Prayer:   Father in heaven, hallowed is Thy Name.  I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about the “Word of God.”  Please bless those who have read this article for they too are seeking Your righteous truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but Yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

