Self-Denial

Avoid shameful desires. Do not be tied up in the affairs of life. Do not indulge in evil desires. Do not let your eye and hands cause you to sin. Do not think only of your own good.

 

Avoid shameful desires

Colossians 3:5-7    Therefore put to death your members which are on the earth: fornication, uncleanness, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry. Because of these things the wrath of God is coming upon the sons of disobedience, in which you yourselves once walked when you lived in them.

 

1 Peter 2:11-12   Living Before the World

11 Beloved, I beg you as sojourners and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts which war against the soul, 12 having your conduct honorable among the Gentiles, that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may, by your good works which they observe, glorify God in the day of visitation.

 

Do not be tied up in affairs of life

2 Timothy 2:4    No one engaged in warfare entangles himself with the affairs of this life, that he may please him who enlisted him as a soldier (“to suffer hardship with someone”; also cf. 2 Tim. 4:5) for the sake of Christ (cf. John 15:18–20).

 

Do not hold on to rights

1 Corinthians 19:11-25    11 If we have sown spiritual things for you, is it a great thing if we reap your material things?

If others are partakers of this right over you, are we not even more?

Nevertheless we have not used this right, but endure all things lest we hinder the gospel of Christ. 13 Do you not know that those who minister the holy things eat of the things of the temple, and those who serve at the altar partake of the offerings of the altar? 14 Even so the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should live from the gospel.

15 But I have used none of these things, nor have I written these things that it should be done so to me; for it would be better for me to die than that anyone should make my boasting void. 16 For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast of, for necessity is laid upon me; yes, woe is me if I do not preach the gospel! 17 For if I do this willingly, I have a reward; but if against my will, I have been entrusted with a stewardship. 18 What is my reward then? That when I preach the gospel, I may present the gospel of Christ without charge, that I may not abuse my authority in the gospel.

Serving All Men

19 For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more; 20 and to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the law, as under the law, that I might win those who are under the law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God, but under law toward Christ), that I might win those who are without law; 22 to the weak I became as weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.

Striving for a Crown

24 Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. 25 And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown.

The above verses are speaking of running the spiritual race so you may win redemption and the right to go to God’s heaven.

 

Do not indulge in evil desires

Romans 13:12-14   12 The night is far spent, the day is at hand. Therefore let us cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armor of light. 13 Let us walk properly, as in the day, not in revelry and drunkenness, not in lewdness and lust, not in strife and envy. 14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.

 

Do not let the eye cause you to sin

Matthew 5:29, 30    29 If your right eye causes you to sin, pluck it out and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell. 30 And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell.

 

Do not let the hand cause you to sin

Mark 9:43    43 If your hand causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter into life maimed, rather than having two hands, to go to hell, into the fire that shall never be quenched—

 

Do not think only of your own good

1 Corinthians 10:24    24 Let no one seek his own, but each one the other’s well-being.

 

Give up your life for Jesus

Matthew 16:24-26    24 Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. 25 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. 26 For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?

 

Mark 8:35    35 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake and the gospel’s will save it.

 

Luke 9:24    24 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will save it.

 

Go and sell all you have

Matthew 19:21    21 Jesus said to him, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.”

 

Leave everything to follow Jesus

Luke 5:11    11 So when they had brought their boats to land, they forsook all and followed Him.

 

Love Jesus more than mother or father

Matthew 10:37    27 But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”

 

Luke 14:26    26 “If anyone comes to Me and does not hate his father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters, yes, and his own life also, he cannot be My disciple.

 

Put aside selfish ambition

Mark 8:34    34 When He had called the people to Himself, with His disciples also, He said to them, “Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me.

 

Luke 9:23    23 Then He said to them all, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.

 

Turn from godless living

Titus 2:12    12 teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly in the present age,

 

Give up your life for Jesus. Go and sell everything you have to follow Jesus. Love Jesus more than your mother and father. Put aside selfish ambition. Turn from godless living.

 

One good thing about truth, the Gospel is God’s Truth, tell it and teach it to others and you will please God and build many rewards in heaven.

God is testing us every day and has given us the right to make our own choices. Do you know which ones are the right choices in Gods mind?

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the joy of the promises of God’s blessings in His time.

 

Prayer:   Father in heaven, I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about “Self-Denial.”  Please bless those who have read this article for they too are seeking Your righteous truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but Yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

