Refuge

There were cities of refuge for those who killed and were guilty or were not guilty. God is our hiding place. God is our refuge.

 

Cities of refuge

Exodus 21:13    13 However, if he did not lie in wait, but God delivered him into his hand, then I will appoint for you a place where he may flee.

 

Numbers 35:25-28    25 So the congregation shall deliver the manslayer from the hand of the avenger of blood, and the congregation shall return him to the city of refuge where he had fled, and he shall remain there until the death of the high priest who was anointed with the holy oil. 26 But if the manslayer at any time goes outside the limits of the city of refuge where he fled, 27 and the avenger of blood finds him outside the limits of his city of refuge, and the avenger of blood kills the manslayer, he shall not be guilty of blood, 28 because he should have remained in his city of refuge until the death of the high priest. But after the death of the high priest the manslayer may return to the land of his possession.

 

Divine wings, a refuge

Psalm 17:8, 9    8 Keep me as the apple of Your eye;

Hide me under the shadow of Your wings,

9 From the wicked who oppress me,

From my deadly enemies who surround me.

 

God is our hiding place

Psalm 32:7    7 You are my hiding place;

You shall preserve me from trouble;

You shall surround me with songs of deliverance.

 

God is our refuge

Deuteronomy 33:27    27 The eternal God is your refuge,

And underneath are the everlasting arms;

He will thrust out the enemy from before you,

And will say, ‘Destroy!’

 

Psalm 27:5    5 For in the time of trouble

He shall hide me in His pavilion;

In the secret place of His tabernacle

He shall hide me;

He shall set me high upon a rock.

 

Psalm 31:20    20 You shall hide them in the secret place of Your presence

From the plots of man;

You shall keep them secretly in a pavilion

From the strife of tongues.

 

Psalm 46:1    1 God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble.

 

Psalm 144:2    2 My lovingkindness and my fortress,

My high tower and my deliverer,

My shield and the One in whom I take refuge,

Who subdues my people under me.

 

God is our rock and fortress

Psalm 71:3    3 Be my strong refuge,

To which I may resort continually;

You have given the commandment to save me,

For You are my rock and my fortress.

 

Proverbs 14:26    26 In the fear of the Lord there is strong confidence, And His children will have a place of refuge.

 

Godly have refuge when they die

Proverbs 14:32    32 The wicked is banished in his wickedness, But the righteous has a refuge in his death.

 

Happy are those who take refuge in God

Psalm 34:8    8 Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; Blessed is the man who trusts in Him!

 

         God is our rock and fortress. The godly have a refuge when they die. Happy are those who take refuge in God.

 

Please remember that if we have any hope in our Lord and Savior who gave us “everything” we must be continually faithful to the Lord, first. Remember, God loved us first, even before He created us.

God is testing us every day and has given us the right to make our own choices. Do you know which ones are the right choices in Gods mind?

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the joy of the promises of God’s blessings in His time.


Prayer:   Father in heaven, I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about “Refuge.”  Please bless those who have read this article for they too are seeking Your truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but Yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

