Music and Musical Instruments

Musical instruments such as a harps, lyres, flutes, tambourines, sistrums and cymbals were used to make music for different occasions. God was praised with a harp. Prayer was accompanied with a harp. Musical instruments promotes joy.

 

Harp and flute

Genesis 4:21    21 His brother’s name was Jubal. He was the father of all those who play the harp and flute.

 

Harps and lyres for musicians

1 Kings 10:12    1 Kings 10:12 (NKJV)

12 And the king made steps of the almug wood for the house of the Lord and for the king’s house, also harps and stringed instruments for singers. There never again came such almug wood, nor has the like been seen to this day.

 

Harps, lyres, tambourines, sistrums, and cymbals

2 Samuel 6:5    Then David and all the house of Israel played music before the Lord on all kinds of instruments of fir wood, on harps, on stringed instruments, on tambourines, on sistrums, and on cymbals.

 

Hymns and spiritual songs

Colossians 3:16    16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.

 

Lyres, tambourines, flutes and harps

1 Samuel 10:5    After that you shall come to the hill of God where the Philistine garrison is. And it will happen, when you have come there to the city, that you will meet a group of prophets coming down from the high place with a stringed instrument, a tambourine, a flute, and a harp before them; and they will be prophesying.

 

Praise God with harp

Psalm 43:4    4 Then I will go to the altar of God,

To God my exceeding joy;

And on the harp I will praise You,

O God, my God.

 

Psalm 71:22    22 Also with the lute I will praise You—

And Your faithfulness, O my God!

To You I will sing with the harp,

O Holy One of Israel.

 

Psalm 98:5    5 Sing to the Lord with the harp,

With the harp and the sound of a psalm,

 

Psalm 144:9    9 I will sing a new song to You, O God;

On a harp of ten strings I will sing praises to You,

 

Psalm 1147:7    7 Sing to the Lord with thanksgiving;

Sing praises on the harp to our God,

 

Psalm 149:3    3 Let them praise His name with the dance;

Let them sing praises to Him with the timbrel and harp.

 

Psalm 150:3, 4    3 Praise Him with the sound of the trumpet;

Praise Him with the lute and harp!

4 Praise Him with the timbrel and dance;

Praise Him with stringed instruments and flutes!

 

Prayer accompanied by harp

Habakkuk 3:19    19 The Lord God is my strength;

He will make my feet like deer’s feet,

And He will make me walk on my high hills.

 

Promotes joy

Ecclesiastes 2:8-10    I also gathered for myself silver and gold and the special treasures of kings and of the provinces. I acquired male and female singers, the delights of the sons of men, and musical instruments of all kinds.

So I became great and excelled more than all who were before me in Jerusalem. Also my wisdom remained with me.

10 Whatever my eyes desired I did not keep from them.

I did not withhold my heart from any pleasure,

For my heart rejoiced in all my labor;

And this was my reward from all my labor.

 

Psalm accompanied by harp

Psalm 4:1    1 Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness! You have relieved me in my distress; Have mercy on me, and hear my prayer.

Psalm 6:1    1 O Lord, do not rebuke me in Your anger, Nor chasten me in Your hot displeasure.

Psalm 55:1    1 Give ear to my prayer, O God, And do not hide Yourself from my supplication.

Psalm 61:1    1 Hear my cry, O God; Attend to my prayer.

Psalm 67:1    1   God be merciful to us and bless us, And cause His face to shine upon us,

Psalm 76:1    1 In Judah God is known; His name is great in Israel.

 

Song of Moses

Exodus 15:1-18    1 Then Moses and the children of Israel sang this song to the Lord, and spoke, saying:

“I will sing to the Lord,

For He has triumphed gloriously!

The horse and its rider

He has thrown into the sea!

2 The Lord is my strength and song,

And He has become my salvation;

He is my God, and I will praise Him;

My father’s God, and I will exalt Him.

3 The Lord is a man of war;

The Lord is His name.

4 Pharaoh’s chariots and his army He has cast into the sea;

His chosen captains also are drowned in the Red Sea.

5 The depths have covered them;

They sank to the bottom like a stone.

6 “Your right hand, O Lord, has become glorious in power;

Your right hand, O Lord, has dashed the enemy in pieces.

7 And in the greatness of Your excellence

You have overthrown those who rose against You;

You sent forth Your wrath;

It consumed them like stubble.

8 And with the blast of Your nostrils

The waters were gathered together;

The floods stood upright like a heap;

The depths congealed in the heart of the sea.

9 The enemy said, ‘I will pursue,

I will overtake,

I will divide the spoil;

My desire shall be satisfied on them.

I will draw my sword,

My hand shall destroy them.’

10        You blew with Your wind,

The sea covered them;

They sank like lead in the mighty waters.

11 “Who is like You, O Lord, among the gods?

Who is like You, glorious in holiness,

Fearful in praises, doing wonders?

12 You stretched out Your right hand;

The earth swallowed them.

13 You in Your mercy have led forth

The people whom You have redeemed;

You have guided them in Your strength

To Your holy habitation.

14 “The people will hear and be afraid;

Sorrow will take hold of the inhabitants of Philistia.

15 Then the chiefs of Edom will be dismayed;

The mighty men of Moab,

Trembling will take hold of them;

All the inhabitants of Canaan will melt away.

16 Fear and dread will fall on them;

By the greatness of Your arm

They will be as still as a stone,

Till Your people pass over, O Lord,

Till the people pass over

Whom You have purchased.

17 You will bring them in and plant them

In the mountain of Your inheritance,

In the place, O Lord, which You have made

For Your own dwelling,

The sanctuary, O Lord, which Your hands have established.

18 “The Lord shall reign forever and ever.”

 

Tambourine and harp

Job 21:12    12 They sing to the tambourine and harp, And rejoice to the sound of the flute.

 

Tambourines and flutes

Isaiah 5:12    12 The harp and the strings,

The tambourine and flute,

And wine are in their feasts;

But they do not regard the work of the Lord,

Nor consider the operation of His hands.

 

Trumpets and cymbals and other instruments

1 Chronicles 16:42    42 and with them Heman and Jeduthun, to sound aloud with trumpets and cymbals and the musical instruments of God. Now the sons of Jeduthun were gatekeepers.

 

Used at coronation of kings

2 Chronicles 23:11-13    11 And they brought out the king’s son, put the crown on him, gave him the Testimony, and made him king. Then Jehoiada and his sons anointed him, and said, “Long live the king!”

 

Death of Athaliah

12 Now when Athaliah heard the noise of the people running and praising the king, she came to the people in the temple of the Lord. 13 When she looked, there was the king standing by his pillar at the entrance; and the leaders and the trumpeters were by the king. All the people of the land were rejoicing and blowing trumpets, also the singers with musical instruments, and those who led in praise. So Athaliah tore her clothes and said, “Treason! Treason!”

 

Used at religious feasts

2 Chronicles 30:21    21 So the children of Israel who were present at Jerusalem kept the Feast of Unleavened Bread seven days with great gladness; and the Levites and the priests praised the Lord day by day, singing to the Lord, accompanied by loud instruments.

 

Used in funeral ceremonies

Matthew 9:23    23 When Jesus came into the ruler’s house, and saw the flute players and the noisy crowd wailing,

 

Used in temple

1 Chronicles 16:4-6    And he appointed some of the Levites to minister before the ark of the Lord, to commemorate, to thank, and to praise the Lord God of Israel: And he appointed some of the Levites to minister before the ark of the Lord, to commemorate, to thank, and to praise the Lord God of Israel: Asaph the chief, and next to him Zechariah, then Jeiel, Shemiramoth, Jehiel, Mattithiah, Eliab, Benaiah, and Obed-Edom: Jeiel with stringed instruments and harps, but Asaph made music with cymbals; Benaiah and Jahaziel the priests regularly blew the trumpets before the ark of the covenant of God.

 

2 Chronicles 29:25    25 And he stationed the Levites in the house of the Lord with cymbals, with stringed instruments, and with harps, according to the commandment of David, of Gad the king’s seer, and of Nathan the prophet; for thus was the commandment of the Lord by his prophets.

 

Used to celebrate victory

1 Samuel 18:6, 7  Now it had happened as they were coming home, when David was returning from the slaughter of the Philistine, that the women had come out of all the cities of Israel, singing and dancing, to meet King Saul, with tambourines, with joy, and with musical instruments.

  So the women sang as they danced, and said:

“Saul has slain his thousands,

And David his ten thousands.”

 

Psalms were accompanied by harps. All kinds of musical instruments were used at Kings coronations. Loud instruments were used at feasts. Flutes were used in funeral ceremonies. Stringed instruments, harps and cymbals were used in the Temple. Tambourines and other musical instruments were used in victory celebrations.

 

  One good thing about truth, the Gospel is God’s Truth, tell it and teach it to others and you will please God and build many rewards in heaven.

Please remember that if we have any hope in our Lord and Savior who gave us “everything” we must be continually faithful to the Lord, first. Remember, God loved us first, even before He created us.

Fear God, love God, honor God, and trust God with all your heart, mind and soul and you will receive and experience the promises of God’s blessings in His time.

 

Prayer:   Father in heaven, I praise You for Your Son and the Holy Spirit. I praise You for Your grace in sending us Your wisdom about “Music and Musical Instruments.”  Please bless those who have read this article for they too are seeking Your righteous truth, love, wisdom and understanding.

May God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit and Christianity be our guiding lights, our safety nets and our inspiration for loving happiness in all of Your kingdom. Father into your hands I commend my spirit. Not my will, but Yours be done. Please come Lord Jesus.

I pray in Jesus sweet name and to His glory through the power of the Holy Spirit,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

